# PROCEEDINGS OF THE GOVERNMENT OF KARNATAKA (Water Resources Department)

## Subject : Constitution of State Committee on Dam Safety(SCDS)- Reg.

- Read : 1. Govt Order No. WRD 03 DSP 2008, Bengaluru, Dtd: 07.01.2009. 2. The Gazette of India, Dtd: 28.12.2021.
  - Secretary to the Gol, MoJS, DoWR, RD&GR, D.O. ltr No: N-52011/1/2021-BM, Dtd: 01.02.2022, R-22012/2/2022-Pen-Riv, Dtd:31.03.2022, N-52011/ 2/ 2021-BM/ Pen Riv - Part(1), Dtd: 10.05.2022.
  - 4. CE, DSO, Bengaluru ltr No.CE/DSO/TA-1/AE-9/DSO/2022-23/ 261, Dated: 28.04.2022.
  - 5. Chairman, National Dam Safety Authority, letter No. DSD-II/ 1-25/2022/151, Dated: 20.06.2022.

\*\*\*\*

#### PREAMBLE:

- There are 231 large dams functioning in Karnataka State, as per the National Register of Large Dams, updated in June-2019 which is published and maintained by the Central Water Commission, New Delhi. Out of these, 75 dams come under the purview of Water Resources Department(Major & Medium), 135 dams under the purview of Minor Irrigation and 21 dams under the purview of Energy and Urban Development Departments.
- The State Level Dam Safety Committee(SLDSC) with the Secretary, Water Resources Department as Chairman constituted vide the Government Order read at(1) above, is in operation till date.
- **3.** The Dam Safety Act, 2021 published in the Gazette of India, dated 14.12.2021 has come into force from 30.12.2021 vide the Gazette of India Notification read at(2) above. The Act provides for surveillance, inspection, operation and maintenance of the specified dam for prevention of dam failure related disasters and to provide for institutional mechanism to ensure their safe functioning and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.
- 4. The Chapter IV, Section 11(1), (2) of the Dam Safety Act, 2021 gives directions for the constitution of the State Committee on Dam Safety; Section 12(1), (2) states its functions; Section 13 gives the details of the Committee meetings and the 3<sup>rd</sup> schedule of the Act gives the complete details of its functions.
- **5.** The Central Government has stressed upon the Constitution of the State Committee on Dam Safety and has requested to take appropriate action for its formation vide the DO letters read at (3) above.

NYS 102

- **6.** The Chief Engineer, Dam Safety Organisation, Bengaluru has submitted a proposal for the constitution of State Committee on Dam Safety as per the norms of the Dam Safety Act, 2021 vide the letter read at (4) above,
- **7.** The proposal for the Constitution of State Committee on Dam Safety was examined thoroughly and hence the following order is issued;

#### GOVERNMENT ORDER E NO: WRD 34 DSP 2022, BENGALURU, DATED:29-06-2022

I. For proper surveillance, inspection, operation and maintenance of the specified dam for prevention of dam failure related disasters and to provide for institutional mechanism to ensure their safe functioning and for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto, the State Level Dam Safety Committee(SLDSC) constituted vide the Government Order No: WRD 03 DSP 2008, dated 07.01.2009 is reconstituted as State Committee on Dam Safety(SCDS)\_ as per the norms of the Dam Safety Act, 2021., as follows:-

SI. No	Designation of the Officers	Designation in the Committee
1	Secretary to the Government, Water Resources Department, Vikasa Soudha, Bengaluru.	Chairman
2	Chief Engineer, Water Resources Development Organization, Bengaluru.	Member
3	Directors, KERS, KR.Sagar, Mandya.	Member
4	Technical Director, KPCL, Bengaluru.	Member
5	Chief Engineer, Minor Irrigation(North), Vijayapura.	Member
6	Chief Engineer, KUWSSB, Dharwad.	Member
7	Chief Engineer, Priyadarshini Jurala Project, Telangana.	Member
8	Chief Engineer, Mettur Dam, Tamil Nadu.	Member
9	Chief Engineer(Projects), WRD, Karnool, Andhra Pradesh.	Member
10	Shri S K Kamboj, Director, Gates (N&W), Central Water Commission, New Delhi.	Member
11	Prof. V V Srinivas, Hydrology Specialist, IISc, Bengaluru.	Member
12	Prof. Muddu Sekhar, Water Resources Specialist, IISc, Bengaluru.	Member
13	Dr. K S Nanjunda Rao, Dam Design Specialist, IISc, Bengaluru.	Member

Karles

14	Shri Pradeep Kumar Shukla, Chief Engineer, Hydro Electric Potential Reassessment Division, Central Electricity Authority, Ministry of Power, New Delhi.	Member •
15	Director, Karnataka State Natural Disaster Management Centre(KSNDMC), Bengaluru.	Invitee
16	Director, Karnataka State Remote Sensing Application Center (KSRSAC), Bengaluru.	Invitee
17	Chief Engineer, Krishna Bhagya Jala Nigam Ltd., Almatti Dam Zone, Almatti.	Invitee
18	Chief Engineer, Cauvery Neeravari Nigam Ltd., Irrigation (South), Mysore.	Invitee
19	Chief Engineer, Dam Safety Organization, Bengaluru.	Member Secretary

- II. (1) The above order shall remain in force until further orders.
  - (2) An order will be separately issued for expenses incurred towards the committee meetings and the payment of travel, day, sitting allowances of the committee officers / non-official invitees.
  - (3) The composition, jurisdiction, terms and conditions of this Committee shall be as specified in the Sections 11, 12, 13 of Chapter IV of The Dam Safety Act, 2021 and its functions are as described in Schedule 3 of this Act.

By Order and in the Name of the Governor of Karnataka,

(Ravindra Konda) 2916 2022

Under Secretary to the Government, Water Resources Department(Tech 5)

### Copy to:

- 1) Accountant General (A&E)/Audit-1, Karnataka, Bengaluru.
- 2) Secretary to the Ministry of Water Resources, Government of India, New Delhi.
- 3) P.S to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Government of Karnataka, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 4) P.S to the Hon'ble Water Resources Minister, Government of Karnataka, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 5) P.S to the Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.

.....4

- 6) The Chairman, Central Water Commission, New Delhi.
- 7) The Director, National Dam Safety Authority, New Delhi.
- 8) The Chairperson and members of the Committee through Member Secretary.
- 9) The Secretary to the Government, Minor Irrigation Department, Bengaluru.
- 10) The Managing Directors of all 4 Nigams of the Water Resources Department and all the Chief Engineers and Directors of Water Resources Department through Member Secretary.
- 11) The Managing Director, KPCL, Bengaluru.
- 12) The Chief Engineer, KUWSSB(North), Dharwad
- 13) The Chief Engineer, KUWSSB(South), Bengaluru.
- 14) The Chief Engineer, BWSSB, Bengaluru.
- 15) OSD and Ex-Officio Deputy Secretary to Government(PWFC), Finance Department, GOK, Vidhana Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 16) Joint Director and Ex-Officio Deputy Secretary(PMU), Finance Department, GOK, M.S. Building, Bengaluru.
- 17) P.S to the Additional Chief Secretary / Secretary, Water Resources Department, Vikasa Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 18) PA to the Additional Secretary/Deputy Secretary, Water Resources Department, Vikasa Soudha, Bengaluru.
- 19) All OSDs/Under Secretaries/Technical Assistants of Water Resources Department and Minor Irrigation Department, Vikasa Soudha, Bengaluru.

\*\*\*

- 20) Compiler, State Gazette, Bengaluru.
- 21) Section Guard file/ extra copies.

)